AVETH is currently contributing and participating in the following bodies and commissions at ETH. The commissions are held in German (except ActionUni).

In case of any questions, please contact the first representative in the list under the given e-mail address.


University Assembly

The university assembly (Hochschulversammlung) has regular plenary meetings to discuss unversity affairs. It consists of 20 members who represent members of faculty (KdL), scientific staff (AVETH), technical and administrative staff (PeKo) and students (VSETH). AVETH is represented by

  • Sasha Cisar
  • Emanuela Milani
  • Martin Roszkowski
  • Moritz Wolf
  • Betty Friedrich-Grube
  • Arik Jung (by deputy)
  • Sebastian Vogg (by deputy)

Strategy Commission

The Strategy Commission advises the Vice President Research and Corporate Relations and the Executive Board on developing the ETH Zurich strategy. It consists of five representatives of the professors and one representative from each of the three non-professorial university groups. AVETH is represented by

Study Commission

The Lehrkommission reviews and judges requests for funding of innovative teaching projects. Mostly these are individual Innovedum projects. The committee consists of the prorector for education, five professors, two students and one representative of scientific staff.

Disciplinary Commission

The disciplinary commission aims to act in the specific case of conflicts regarding a scientific staff member.

Gastro Commission

The Gastronomy Commission advises the Executive Board of the ETH Zurich concerning gastronomy and retail business. It formulates the requirements, devices strategies, dose planing and ensures quality control. Furthermore the commission concerns with operative issues involving costumers. The committee meets 2-3 per year.

ASVZ board

The board of ASVZ deals primarily with strategic decisions concerning the mid- to long-term future of ASVZ. This includes budgeting, infrastructure and sports range development. The ASVZ board does not directly interfere with the day-to-day operations of the ASVZ. The board formally meets at least five times per year.

Psycological Counselling Commission

In this commission's meetings usually the progress report of the PBS of the past year is discussed (How many students needed help? Which offers of the PBS for the students were highly frequented? Did any especially difficult problems occur? etc.) and based on this the key tasks for the next year are set. In average, the commission meets twice a year. Having a counseling office like the PBS is a great help for students that experience problems with their studies or in their private life. The PBS also offers conflict management especially for doctoral students who experience problems with their supervisor or their project. They also have a course that helps with problems encountered when writing a paper.

Unterrichtskonferenz Didaktische Ausbildung

The main task of `Unterrichtskonferenz Didaktische Ausbildung' is to guarantee a high teaching quality at ETH.  To this end, it discusses and approves concrete course offerings and appoints lecturers responsible for the different fields.


Officially, ActionUni represents the young researchers as well as the organizations representing its assistants and doctoral students. Moreover, it has the motivation to improve the situation of assistants and doctoral students and to discuss issues about research and teaching in Swiss universities. The assembly of delegates basically consits of representatives of organization like Acine (Neuchatel), ACIDE (EPFL), AVETH, CSWM (Fribourg), MVUP (Bern), SAA (Sektion Assistenztierärzte und Assistenztierärztinnen), Dachverband der Assistierenden der Universität Basel, ACIP ( Association du corps intermédiaire en psychologie (Université de Genève)) and also Uni Luzern. The assembly of delegates meets once per year.


Excellence Scholarship and Opportunity Programme

ETH Zurich encourages excellent students wishing to pursue a Master’s degree at ETH. Under the Excellence Scholarship & Opportunity Programme (ESOP) students receive a special scholarship for the duration of their program as well as specific assistance. AVETH is part of the commission evaluating the applications to this scholarship.

Arbitration Committee for Doctoral Studies

Last resort when all other means of mediation fail. Members of the committee are the Prorector for Doctoral Studies (Chair), the Head of the respective department (or Director of Studies) and a representative of the AVETH. No member of the committee may be involved in the thesis project.
The arbitration committee hears both parties and submits a conciliatory proposal if indicated. If no such proposal is submitted or if it is rejected, the committee concludes the procedure and forwards its recommendations to the rector.

Roundtable Commission

Round table is an informal forum to provide us with information about ongoing or future activities at campus Science City. In addition, they want to know if we have ideas for improving the campus, etc. organized by ETH Division for Events & Location Development.

WOKO Student Housing Cooperative Zürich

WOKO lets houses, apartments and rooms to students in Zurich and in Winterthur at affordable rents. Accommodation is available exclusively to students enrolled at the ETH Zurich, University of Zurich and Zürcher Fachhochschulen. As part of the cooperative, AVETH has a representative who stays in contact with the WOKO management and who votes at the WOKO general assembly.

International Forum

The International Forum serves as a platform for coordination, information and discussion of projects, events and developments regarding international affairs. It ensures the utilisation of synergies among all stakeholders in the area of international affairs and acts as a sounding board for new ideas and initiatives.

Forum Nachwuchsförderung

The „Forum Nachwuchsförderung“ (support of young researchers careers) is an informal forum to provide information and discuss concerns related to the development of young researchers careers. The meetings with ≈15 members from various ETH organizations (e.g. various staff units of the executive board or administrative departments) are organized bi-annually by the Office of Research.

Critical Thinking Advisory Board